Hans Bischoffshausen

Feld am See in Oberkärnten 1927 – 1987 Villach.

Architectural studies in Graz, employment as an autodidact with Classical Modernism. 1957 first solo exhibition at the Galleria del Cavallino in Venice, followed by an exhibition at Galerie next St. Stephan, Vienna. 1959 He moved to Paris, where he joined the group “Zero-Avantgarde”.

1963 first solo exhibition in Paris at Galerie Weiler; this is followed by exhibitions in Klagenfurt, The Hague, Rome and the Kunsthalle Bern, then again several exhibitions in France. In 1964-1968 he published his own cultural magazine, in which – as a result of the failed Paris 68 Revolution – predominantly pessimistic articles about art and culture appear.

1971 Return to Austria, 1977 major retrospective in the Carinthian Landesgalerie. In the 1980s simplification (“brutalization”) of artistic means. Bischoffshausen makes many trips (e.g. to Taiwan, which were processed in a “Taiwan Report” series) in order to gain more distance from the hard-to-bear “cultural enterprise”. Increasing isolation and health problems characterize the last years of his life of this great Austrian avant-gardist, whose closeness to the “Zero” group and especially to the art of Lucio Fontana are not yet sufficiently appreciated.

Works by Hans Bischoffshausen:

Apparition, 1962

PVC on clamping plate, dispersion

31 x 24 cm

Signed on the back, titled (Paris) and dated (1962)
Dedicated to Martin Esterl. December 62

"Attempt to the World Piano", 1972

PVC and cell cement on chipboard ; Dispersion ;
31x24cm ;

Little Summer Thing, 1983

filler and pencil/paper ;
29.5×21 cm; signed

€ 4800,–

"O.T"

50×65 cm

Traces of colour on roughened cardboard

signed, dated, designated, Paris 1960

€ 2700,–

If you are interested in these works, please send us a request or call us: +43 664 100 51 10

Hans Bischoffshausen

Feld am See in Oberkärnten 1927 – 1987 Villach.

Architekturstudium in Graz, Beschäftigung als Autodidakt mit der Klassischen Moderne. 1957 erste Einzelausstellung in der Galleria del Cavallino in Venedig, es folgt eine Ausstellung in der Galerie nächst St. Stephan, Wien. 1959 Übersiedlung nach Paris, wo er sich der Gruppe „Zero-Avantgarde“ anschließt.

1963 erste Einzelausstellung in Paris in der Galerie Weiler; es folgen Ausstellungen in Klagenfurt, Den Haag, Rom und in der Kunsthalle Bern, dann wieder mehrere Ausstellungen in Frankreich. 1964-1968 gibt er eine eigene Kulturzeitschrift heraus, in der – als Folge der gescheiterten Pariser 68er Revolution – überwiegend pessimistische Artikel über Kunst und Kultur erscheinen.

1971 Rückkehr nach Österreich, 1977 große Retrospektive in der Kärntner Landesgalerie. In den 80er Jahren Vereinfachung („Brutalisierung“) der künstlerischen Mittel. Bischoffshausen unternimmt viele Reisen (u.a. nach Taiwan, die in einer „Taiwan-Report“-Serie verarbeitet wurden), um mehr Abstand zum schwer erträglichen „Kulturbetrieb“ zu gewinnen. Zunehmende Isolierung und die gesundheitlichen Probleme kennzeichnen die letzten Lebensjahre dieses großen österreichischen Avantgardisten, dessen Nähe zu „Zero“-Gruppe und besonders zur Kunst von Lucio Fontana noch nicht ausreichend gewürdigt sind.

Werke von Hans Bischoffshausen:

Apparition, 1962

PVC auf Spannplatte, Dispersion

31 x 24 cm

Rückseitig signiert, betitelt (Paris) und datiert (1962)
Gewidmet für Martin Esterl. Dezember 62

 

„O.T“

50×65 cm

Farbspuren auf aufgerauhtem Karton

signiert, datiert, bezeichnet, Paris 1960

€ 2700,–

Kleine Sommersache, 1983

Spachtelmasse u. Bleistift/Papier ;
29,5×21 cm; signiert

€ 4800,–

Wenn Sie Interesse an diesen Werken haben, senden Sie uns bitte eine Anfrage oder rufen Sie uns an: +43 664 100 51 10