Herbert Breiter

Landeshut / Silesia 1927 – 1999 Salzburg

After an art study in Dresden was prevented by the war, registration 1946 for the School of Applied Arts in Salzburg. Instead of studying, he begins to paint as an autodidact and also earns money with arts and crafts. He becomes a pupil of Max Peiffer-Watenphul, who also found his new home in Salzburg. Wider learns through him other painters and sculptors know u.a. Agnes Muthspiel, who becomes his first partner.

Beginning of an intensive exhibition activity, besides important acquaintances with the composer Gottfried von Einem and the stage designer Caspar Nehrer. Several trips to Italy, especially to Tuscany and the island of Ponza.

1951 founding member of the “Salzburger Gruppe”, 1952 contact to the circle around Hans Weigel in Vienna, 1965 catalog raisonné of the printmaking, with which he became known to a large circle of interested parties. From 1975 almost annual trips with his wife Burgi (nee Lobisser) to Italy, southern Styria and the peninsula Mani in Greece. The southern landscape – the sea, the villages, olive groves, vineyards (including the southern Styrian) – is the main motif in the art of Herbert Breiter.

He saw his task as an artist in bringing these special moments in nature and their beauty closer to the viewer for the duration.

Works by Herbert Breiter

At the Nockalm, 1992

Oil on canvas

29 x 37 cm

Styrian vineyards, 1987

Aquarell

53 x 76 cm

Stillleben, 1984

Aquarell

57 x 76 cm

Construction site Kardamili, 1992

Aquarell

57 x 76 cm

Coast in Mani (Cypress), 1997

pen ink

80 x 49 cm

Florence, 1956

Pencil / charcoal

75 x 56 cm

Houses and mountains in Mani, 1993

Aquarell

57 x 76 cm

Greek mountain landscape, 1989

Aquarell

75 x 105 cm

Village in the Mani, 1991

Aquarell

38 x 59 cm

Great Manilandschaft, 1985

Aquarell

75 x 105 cm

Kalamitsi, 1988

Aquarell

57 x 76 cm

Kardamili, 1990

Aquarell

75 x 105 cm

Houses and domes, 1971

color lithograph

77 x 54 cm

If you are interested in the works of this artist, please send us an inquiry!

Herbert Breiter

Landeshut / Schlesien 1927 – 1999 Salzburg

Nachdem ein Kunststudium in Dresden durch den Krieg verhindert wurde, Anmeldung 1946 für die Kunstgewerbeschule in Salzburg. Statt dem Studium beginnt er als Autodidakt zu malen und verdient nebenbei Geld mit Kunstgewerbearbeiten. Er wird Schüler von Max Peiffer-Watenphul, der ebenfalls in Salzburg seine neue Heimat gefunden hat. Breiter lernt durch ihn andere Maler und Bildhauer kennen u.a. Agnes Muthspiel, die seine erste Lebensgefährtin wird.

Beginn einer intensiven Ausstellungstätigkeit, daneben wichtige Bekanntschaften mit dem Komponisten Gottfried von Einem und dem Bühnenbildner Caspar Nehrer. Mehrere Reisen nach Italien, vor allem in die Toskana und auf die Insel Ponza.

1951 Gründungmitglied der „Salzburger Gruppe“, 1952 Kontakt zum Kreis um Hans Weigel in Wien, 1965 Werkverzeichnis der Druckgraphik, mit dem er einem größerem Interessentenkreis bekannt wurde. Ab 1975 fast jährlich stattfindende Reisen mit seiner Frau Burgi (geb. Lobisser) nach Italien, Südsteiermark und auf die Halbinsel Mani in Griechenland. Die südliche Landschaft – das Meer, die Dörfer, Olivenhaine, Weinberge (auch die südsteirischen) – ist das Hauptmotiv in der Kunst von Herbert Breiter.

Er sah seine Aufgabe als Künstler darin, diese besonderen Momente in der Natur und ihre Schönheit dem Betrachter für die Dauer  näher zu bringen.

Werke von Herbert Breiter

Auf der Nockalm, 1992

Öl auf Leinwand

29 x 37 cm

Steirische Weinberge, 1987

Aquarell

53 x 76 cm

Stillleben, 1984

Aquarell

57 x 76 cm

Baustelle Kardamili, 1992

Aquarell

57 x 76 cm

Küste in der Mani (Zypresse), 1997

Federtusche

80 x 49 cm

Florenz, 1956

Bleistift/Kohle

75 x 56 cm

Häuser und Berge in der Mani, 1993

Aquarell

57 x 76 cm

Griechische Gebirgslandschaft, 1989

Aquarell

75 x 105 cm

Dorf in der Mani, 1991

Aquarell

38 x 59 cm

Große Manilandschaft, 1985

Aquarell

75 x 105 cm

Kalamitsi, 1988

Aquarell

57 x 76 cm

Kardamili, 1990

Aquarell

75 x 105 cm

Häuser und Kuppeln, 1971

Farblithographie

77 x 54 cm

Franziskanerkirche in Salzburg, 1986

Federtusche

50 x 65 cm

Herbert Breiter

Wenn Sie Interesse für Werke dieses Künstlers haben, senden Sie uns bitte eine Anfrage!

Logo von der Galerie Magnet